4 Ways To Reconnect TODAY!

This week after the stressful moments and our reconnection time we got invited to the Atp Tour Here in Houston. It was a blessing for sure.

I think God knew we needed to get out of our bubble this week. Watching Cali watch one of her favorite tennis players was the biggest blessing.

If life has gotten busy and you’ve drifted along in your marriage, try these things today to help you get back on track with your spouse.

Can I (Liz) be real? Life has thrown us some challenges lately. We are in the midst of raising teenagers, wrangling animals, building businesses, and trying to tend to our marriage, family, and responsibilities all while tackling the issue of financial burdens.

Lately, it's been so difficult to keep my eyes focused on Jesus and have faith in His word and His promises. I allowed my worry and stress to become bigger than the God I know can handle it all.

When this happens, I go into recluse mode. I don't want to go anywhere or be around people. Isolation becomes the answer.

I was pulling away from Armando and the kids too. Just trying to get through the day-to-day, have faith, not let fear win, and manage my thoughts well. That's difficult to do sometimes.

Tensions were rising with Armando and me, and we had to take the time to STOP and SLOW DOWN together. So just the other day, we did just that. We sat down on the couch and just talked. We hugged. We cried. Armando reminded me of the truth we had forgotten in the middle of the striving, “We honor God when we honor each other”. We apologized for the things we needed to. We encouraged each other and prayed. We felt BACK ON TRACK in just a few moments.

So, we are sharing today exactly what we did to RECONNECT QUICKLY…

1. Find the one belief you both have but have forgotten in the midst of the hustle and bustle of life.

We had to physically stop and make time for each other. Stop the chores, stop the emails, stop the texts, stop the TV show, and sit with each other and talk about ONE BELIEF you both have that you need to remind yourself of. We had both begun to allow the stresses to drive a wedge between us. Our truth in that moment was to remember “We need to honor each other anyway, because we honor God in the process”. Another truth we discussed, 'We will be people that TRUST GOD no matter what”. So find your belief and STAND BACK ON IT TOGETHER.

2. Apologize for anything you may have done.

Sometimes we let things get swept under the rug because we are just too tired to deal with it. But whether we like it or not those things are still there and we are not fooling anyone. For me, I had to let Armando know I was sorry for not giving him what he needed as I drew myself away from him. He needed me on his side. He needed my encouragement. He needed my trust and faith in him. So I apologized. This can be anything from “I'm sorry I've been so snappy with you lately" to “I'm sorry I'm not more attentive to your needs, I want to be here for you”.

3. Laugh.

These moments can get tense sometimes because we are dealing with our emotions and feelings. But it's important to make each other smile too. Knowing your spouse's sense of humor is important because laughter really is great medicine.

4. Seal your CONNECTION session with a prayer.

After Armando and I laughed, cried, expressed our concerns, feelings, and apologies to each other, Armando prayed and all of a sudden the peace we needed to feel came into our time together. This prayer can go something like “Lord we are so thankful for you and for the marriage and family you've given us. We want to continue to come together and feel your peace in our marriage, when things get crazy help us to recognize it and not run away from each other but RUN TO EACH OTHER, Amen” or whatever else you feel led to pray :)

We appreciate you opening today's article and reading along with us as we share. We pray that you and your spouse will find connection time this weekend. Getting on the same page is possible. Sometimes all it takes is 10 minutes of your undivided attention to each other.

Action Step: Plan a time this weekend for you and your spouse to have alone time even if it's 15-30 minutes.

Have a blessed weekend,

Liz and Armando