How To Encourage Your Spouse Part 1-For The Wives

For the first 16 years of our marriage, I honestly didn't do well at encouraging Armando.

Can I be honest? Sometimes, those of us absorbed in ourselves struggle to encourage others because it requires thinking of someone else before ourselves. To be transparent, I was pretty self-absorbed. Can I be real? I still ask God to search my heart in this area almost every day.

I want to be prepared and present to offer Armando encouragement when he needs it. But when I'm constantly focused on myself, I've realized that offering encouragement can be challenging.

"Sometimes you have to get YOU off your mind" - Joyce Meyer.

I love what Proverbs 12:25 says, "Anxiety weighs down the heart, but a kind word cheers it up."

Particularly with Armando, I've noticed he loves words of encouragement.

Being an entrepreneur means no promotions or rewards for a job well done. In the business world, there's no guarantee of a paycheck every two weeks. He doesn't receive pats on the back from managers or bosses for doing a good job.

I've realized it can be very lonely at times, and that's when my words can bring so much life to him.

I've compiled a list of ways that have made a significant impact on encouraging my husband. Men need encouragement too. Despite their strength and stoic nature, a "pat on the back" and an encouraging word can do wonders for our husbands.

Here are some ideas on how you can encourage your husband today, listed in no particular order:

1. Initiate intimacy.

This is crucial for a man. Men are typically more driven sexually, so intentionally initiating intimacy will do wonders for his self-worth and confidence. Pursue your husband. Trust me, he'll appreciate it :)

2. Express gratitude.

When was the last time you hugged your husband and said, "I just want to thank you for everything you do for me/the kids and our family. It means a lot, and you're doing an amazing job"? There have been moments where all Armando needed from me was a simple thank you and words of appreciation.

3. Pray for him.

Start each day by praying for him before he heads to work or pray together before bed. Letting him know that he's in your heart and conversations with God is meaningful. Prayer for your husband is a powerful tool that every wife should use.

4. Compliment him in public.

In today's culture, it's become normalized to gossip about spouses to friends and family. We've been in uncomfortable situations where wives speak negatively about their husbands, and it's demeaning, to say the least. Choose not to engage in this behavior. Take time to admire a trait about him, whether it's a favorite physical attribute or personality trait. When you're with friends, talk about what you admire about him.

So, to encourage you today, send some love and encouragement to your husband. He probably needs it more than you know.

Prayer for today: "God, give me a heart for my husband. Show me the ways he needs encouragement today, and help me be there for him. If his heart is burdened, I am more than willing to lift it with a kind word. Amen."

Which of these suggestions stands out the most to you? What other ways have you found to offer your husband encouragement? Feel free to respond to our email; we look forward to hearing from you!

With Love,

Liz 🙂

PS: Armando will be sharing this Friday for all the husbands out there... Part 2 is coming soon!