Heart For Your Husband

Last week were were able to go on our first date night in awhile. It was so fun trying a new restaurant in Houston.

Hey, guys! It's been over a week since our last article. Thanks so much for opening today's article.

With Husband Appreciation Day coming up this Saturday, we wanted to reach out to you and share some inspiration.

This week, I asked Armando what makes him feel “appreciated.” His response was practical at first, but then he shared this one thing that really stuck out to me.

He said, “When it comes from a heart of gratitude, a husband can tell.”

You can check off boxes. You can have your to-do list. You can do all the things, but if your heart's motive is not pure, then there will be no real fulfillment for either party.

I'm guilty of not being consistent with showing Armando that I appreciate him, especially in the last few weeks. I've been so wrapped up in my feelings, stress, and worry about the future that I forgot to tend to him.

Remember that when you're married, it requires both husband and wife to tend to the thing that matters most. Your marriage should always be the most important relationship you tend to. We can allow work, business ventures, and kids' activities to take precedence, but it's important to always be open to recognizing when this happens in your relationship and take a step back to make it right.

So when I asked Armando this question and he started listing off some of the things that make him feel appreciated, I apologized. I realized at that moment that I had been so caught up in other things that I hadn't taken the time to really appreciate him.

So I'm excited to celebrate Armando this Saturday, but I'm not going to wait until then to start showing him how much I appreciate him.

Here are some of the things he shared that I'm passing on to you! Let's get to it:

WORDS

Armando is a big words guy. He wants me to tell him how much I appreciate the way he works so hard for our family. He wants me to recognize when he closed a new client or did something around the house. He wants me to let him know the things I admire about his personality and his heart. He loves when I share with him how much I love his confidence and his smile. I love what Proverbs 12:25 shares about a good “word,” “Anxiety in a man's heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad.” So write him a note, send him a text, or just grab him for a minute and share your thoughts with him.

Physical ANYTHING

Armando is a big physical touch guy. This is something that honestly was never in my wheelhouse, but after God changed my life, saved me, and gave me another chance to be married to Armando, I could not keep my hands off of him. I had this overwhelming heart of GRATITUDE towards him that caused me to just gravitate towards him physically. So for this Appreciation Day, give your hubby a gift that he will remember forever. 🙂

Join Him In His Hobby

When Armando started playing pickleball, I rolled my eyes just a bit. I am a tennis fan, so I looked down on pickleball like most tennis players do. LOL! He began playing EVERY DAY too, so there were moments I was vocal about him finding a better work/play balance. Recently, however, I have picked up my paddle and started to play more with him. I discovered it's actually really fun, and he mentioned to me that he enjoyed having me practice more with him. He secretly wants me to get really good so we can enter tournaments together. SO whatever your husband's hobby is, join him in it.

These are just a few of the things Armando threw my way this week. The biggest thing to remember is that whatever you do, do it with all your heart from a heart of true gratitude for your husband. Ask the Lord to give you a heart for your husband.

Colossians 3:23 “Whatever you do [whatever your task may be], work from the soul [that is, put in your very best effort], as [something done] for the Lord and not for men.”

Hope this article today has found you well. Keep fighting for your marriage. Seek the Lord in everything and keep praying for His will to be done in your life.

Action Step: Mark Husband Appreciation Day on your calendar RIGHT NOW (Its TOMORROW) and plan something special for him.

With love,

Liz and Armando